Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

One of the bloggers that I correspond with suggested the ins and outs of self-publishing your book. I do agree with his findings; however, I think there is a more sinister aspect of the writing world:

What new writers don’t know, and possibly, can’t know until they take that plunge, is that marketing is the key to success.

All writers want their work in print. It’s a badge of honor that I proudly wear. I had no idea what marketing entailed. I thought since I had a great book, (finalist in The Indie Excellence Book Awards) that I was halfway home – not.

This only means that you are halfway, and since I’m an optimist, I see it as half full. Half full means that you have lots of work yet to do. I’m confident that my hard work and my introduction to social media: facebook, twitter and linkedin will help to propel me into the mainstream reading networks. I do believe that social media is the way of the future, and as soon as I find out the best way to use it, I will most certainly pass that knowledge on.

There is another problem that most new writers don’t anticipate, and that is the cost of marketing.

I had a publicist at the beginning, a friend. Her message was to secure your base. That meant all of the media outlets that were within our reach. I did several book clubs, newspaper interviews, TV interviews, and readings at bookstores. We did everything that we could think of within our budget. All of these things helped but until you get the right “eyes” looking at you work, you have to keep going.

Which step have you reached today? Don't give up.The important thing here is not to give up. As the old adage goes, “He was an overnight success.” Nobody is an overnight success. John Grisham got thirty-five rejections before, what I consider his best work, “A Time to Kill,” was picked up by a major publisher. What if he had given up on the thirty-fourth try?

 

