Tags

, , , , , , ,

Uncle Otto by Winfred CookWhat body features do you check out when you are out and about? While driving to work the other day in my usual manner, I was checking out the parade of eye candy among the pedestrians and I had this thought: Does Otto swagger?

I realized that while driving I constantly look for my favorite body parts; the face is secondary. I’m sure for some it’s the other way around. Do you look at your favorite body parts first? Do you look first at the face of the person with a body you like? Since I don’t have the consensus of the general public, I guess I’ll have to tackle this one myself.

A good friend showed me a picture on her cell phone of a quite attractive person who was interested in her. However, as she stated, “there’s no swagger.” I knew exactly what she meant.

What happens when the body and the face don’t match up? And how important is swagger, anyway? In any case, I’m sure that in all cases they have to match. What I mean is, if the body is great and then you get a look at that mug…

Sometimes, both the face and the body are in sync but there is still something missing. Then the swagger really comes into play. All I can say is that the right swagger is important; sometimes it’s a deal breaker. When it’s not present, I know it. This led me to my next thought.

So does Otto have a swagger? Does his appeal come from something beyond his good looks? In my novel, Otto is smart and has the propensity to lead. He is looked up to by his peers and adored by women, but I’m not sure he knows the impression he gives others.

I believe that when someone has a swagger, they often don’t know it themselves. Sometimes it’s called arrogance or mistaken for such. Even though I created my version of Otto, there is still no way for me to see beyond the words on the page.

